There are two divisions of Garhwal and Kumaun in the state of Uttarakhand. Before 1790, the region of Kamaun was ruled by Chand Dynasty and the region of Garhwal by Parmar and Panwar Dynasties. During 1790-91, after the attack of Gorkhas, whole region of Garhwal and Kumaun came under the subjugation of Gorkhas. After the pact of 1815, King Sudarshan Shah got hold of the present districts of Tehri and Uttarkhashi whereas the districts of Pauri Garhwal, Rudraprayag and Chamoli along with whole Kumaun region begain to be governed by the British .Up to 1947, the then Tehri state continued to be governed by the King and the area of the British Garhwal and Kamaun by the Britishers.

After independence the estate of Tehri became a part of former state of Uttar Pradesh and the whole area came under the control of commissioner Kumaun.

 Due to the sensitivity of the distant border area of Kumaun division and in the backdrop of the probability of a war with China, districts of Garhwal, Tehri and Almora were divided and three new districts of Chamoli, Uttakhashi and Pithoragarh were carved out in 1960. All the three districts which were included in Uttrakhand division with it’s headquarter in Lunknow, continued to be financed by the government of India, till March 31st, 1974. In 1960 ‘Kamaun & Uttarakhand Zamindari Abolition Act’ 1961 (KUJA) was passed. On December 1st 1968, Kumaun division was divided and a new division of Garhwal was created.

Initially district Dehradun was under Meerut division. After the creation of this new division on June 4th, 1975, district Dehradun was included in this division. District Haridwar was a part of Tehsil Rurkee till 1904. Tesil Rurkee, a part of district Saharanpur, was in the Meerut division. On October 2nd ,1984, Tesil Haridwar was created.

During Kumbh Mela festival in 1986, 46 people died due to stampede. Judicial enquiry of the incident was ordered by the government. In this background of above incident, the demand for the creation of district Haridwar became prominent. The then U.P. government on December 28th, 1988, created district Haridwar. On April, 15th, 1997, a new division of Saharanpur was carved out from Meerut division. Muzzaffarnagar and Haridwar were included in this division. On Novmber 9th, 2000, after the creation of Uttrakhand, district Haridwar became a part of Garhwal division.

Four new districts of Uddhamsingnagar, Bageshwar, Champawat and Rudraprayag were created by the then U.P. government. At present there are two divisions and thirteen districts in the state of Uttarakhand.

In the new state of Uttarakhand, to live up to the expectations of the public, a number of project’s were launched for the modernization and up gradation of the revenue department. The need to change it’s traditional image, as ‘the department with dilapidated buildings and outdated vehicles’, was felt and accordingly the methodology was finalized.


Revenue Department


After the creation of the new state, the organization of Chief Revenue Commissioner was established in the revenue department.  On May 11th , 2012, to make this organization more efficient and dynamic, Board Of Revenue was created in place of the organization of Chief Revenue Commissioner. The Chairman, Board Of Revenue works as the H.O.D. for the personnel’s of revenue department e.g. Revenue Sub Inspector / Lekhapal, Revenue Inspector, Ragistrar Kanoongo, Ministerial staff, Collection staff, Administrative officers/Senior Administrative officers from Tehsils and districts, Naib tehsildar and Tehsildar.

The Board Of Revenue is the highest judicial body of the revenue department. It’s headquarter is situated in Dehradun, the state capital. There are two circuit courts under the Board. One is held in Pauri and another in Nainital. Hearing of the cases from hill districts of Garhwal division, is conducted in circuit court Pauri while the cases from Kumaun division,   are disposed of in the circuit court Nainital. Revenue cases from districts Dehradun and Haridwar are dealt with at the headquarter.

At present a new building of the office of the Board of Revenue has been constructed at Haridwar-Mussoorie bypass road in Ladpur and is being run from there smoothly.